The Troublemakers

pope-francis-touching-disabled-manAs Michael Gerson points out in his opinion piece in the Washington Post, what is compelling about this “trouble-maker,” Pope Francis, is his understanding that the Christian faith has a bias, a soft-spot, if you will, for the downtrodden, the outcast, the broken.

This, of course, is why Christianity and the Twelve Step programs of recovery have so much in common: they are both designed to reach those who most need help: the least, the last and the lost.  It is not the healthy who need a doctor, said Jesus, but the sick, and this is why I have come.

About Kelly Clark

I am a convinced, if not very virtuous, Christian, recovering from alcohol abuse and many other addictions, and have been working a program of recovery consistently for over nineteen years-- since I blew my life up with chaos and crimes and hurt many people I loved. I am active in 12 Step Fellowships, sponsoring several men and attending several meetings each week. I expect to finish a Masters of Divinity in the Fall of 2011, and soon will begin a discernment process in my church about possible ordained ministry. In my day job, I am a trial attorney, representing adult victims of childhood sexual abuse.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

